Call For Awards

Call for Annual Award Submissions

The Working-Class Studies Association (WCSA) invites nominations, including selfnominations for our annual awards. In all categories, we invite nominations of excellent work that provides insightful and engaging representations of working-class life, culture, and movements; addresses issues related to the working class; and highlights the voices, experiences, and perspectives of working-class people.

To be eligible, works must have been published (in the case of books or articles) or completed (in the case of films and dissertations) between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2021.

To nominate a work for consideration, please send three copies (PDF or paper version), one to each judge on the judging panel (see below for names), with a cover letter that provides a brief explanation of why you think the work deserves recognition in this award category. Nominations are due by February 1, 2022.

The Award categories and judging panels are:

Tillie Olsen Award for Creative Writing: Published books of poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and other genres


Professor Emerita, Goucher College
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Communication Studies Department
Sierra College, MT-10
5100 Sierra College Blvd.
Rocklin, CA 95677

Alma College MFA Program
136 S. 19th St., Unit 106
Pittsburgh, PA 15203

C.L.R. James Award for Published Books for Academic or General Audiences


Emeritus Associate Professor of English
The Pennsylvania State University
908 Oak Lane, Wyomissng, PA 19610

Department of American Studies, University of Kansas
1501 Rhode Island
Lawrence, KS 66044

Professor of Anthropology, MIT

**Note: send email for full mailing address

Ryan and Sackrey Award for Best Book by writer(s) of working-class origins or that speaks to issues of the working-class academic experience


Professor of Queer Studies, CUNY
**Note: send email to Matt Brim for instructions on mailing nominated materials

School of Social Sciences and Humanities, Loughborough University, UK

Professor Emeritus, Department of Sociology, LSU

Russo & Linkon Award for Published Article or Essay for Academic or General Audiences


**Note: send email for full mailing address

Professor of English and Director of The Texas Center for Working-Class Studies
Collin College
2800 E. Spring Creek Parkway
Plano TX 75074

Professor of History, Saint Francis Xavier University
PO Box 5000
Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2W5

Studs Terkel Award for Media and Journalism: Single published articles or series, broadcast media, multimedia, and film


Associate Professor, Work and Policy Studies
Empire State College – SUNY, 34-2875 Union Road
Cheektowaga, NY 14227

Director of Academic and Cultural Programs
Calandra Italian American Institute
Queens College, CUNY
MAIL materials to:
25 West 43rds St, 17 th Floor
New York, NY 10036

Secondary English Teacher/English Instructor
University of North Carolina at Pembroke
**Note: send email for full mailing address

Constance Coiner Award for Best Dissertation


Wyoming Institute for Humanities Research
The Cooper House
1000 East University Avenue
Department 4036
Laramie, WY 82071

Associate Professor of Labor Studies Indiana University
1127 Atwater Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47401

School of Communication
Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences
University of Technology Sydney
PO Box 123, Broadway
NSW 2007

Winners will be publicly announced at the annual WCSA conference held in Corvallis, Oregon (June 20-23, 2022). Winners will receive free conference registration to allow them to attend the awards banquet.

For questions about specific awards (e.g., extensions, shipping concerns) please contact the listed Chair of the Judging Panel. For all other and general questions on the awards process, please contact Allison Hurst, WCSA Past-President, at